Blog single photo

169 MLAs support to Maha Vikas Agadi, BJP Walks Out


169 MLAs support to Maha Vikas Agadi, BJP Walks Out

BJP to approach Governor to suspend House proceedings

New Delhi, Nov 30 (HS): As many as 169 MLAs of Maha Vikas Agadi (MVA) today voted in favour of motion of confidence while four other MLAs abstained and 105 of BJP MLAs walked out during voting. 
After winning the trust vote in the Maharashtra Assembly, the Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray thanked the house for showing trust in him and said, "I thank the house and people of Maharashtra for showing trust on my government without whom this would not have been possible."
He said he was slightly tensed before coming to the House. "I was slightly tensed before coming to house. My political opponents are not in front of me now." he said that he took the oath taking name of Chhatrapati Shivaji and would do it if necessary. 
Meanwhile reacting to the event the BJP leader and former CM Devendra Fadnavis said that his party would submit a letter to Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari asking him to suspend the proceedings of the House. Although the Pro tem speaker Dilip Walse Patil said that it all was being held after Governor's directions. 
"Our party would approach Governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari over Maha Vikas Agadi's move to change pro tem speaker," said BJP's Maharashtra unit chief Chandrakant Patil, adding, "It is leagally wrong and we are filing petition with the governor, and might also approach the apex court." 
Thackeray, who is also the Shiv Sena president, was sworn-in as the chief minister on Thursday evening alongwith six other ministers including two each from the Sena, the Congress and the NCP. 
A two-day sitting of the Assembly began on Saturday. On Sunday, the Assembly Speaker's election will be held, followed by tabling of motion of thanks on the governor's address in the House. The new Speaker will then announce the name of the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly. Governor B S Koshyari has asked Thackeray to prove majority by December 3. The ruling combine has claimed support of 162 MLAs in the 288-member Assembly.
The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress formed the government after the Shiv sena broke up its ties with BJP over sharing of Chief Ministerial post. The BJP emerged as the single largest party winning 105 seats. The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress won 56, 54 and 44 seats respectively in the October 21 polls.
NCP MLA Dilip Walse Patil was on Friday appointed as pro tem speaker of the Assembly. He replaces BJP MLA Kalidas Kolambkar who was earlier this week appointed to the post. Walse Patil is a former speaker of the Assembly.

Hindusthan Samachar//Manish