Hindusthan Samachar
Banner 2 गुरुवार, अप्रैल 25, 2019 | समय 23:45 Hrs(IST) Sonali Sonali Sonali Singh Bisht

UP records high turn-out of voters on the first day of polling

By HindusthanSamachar | Publish Date: Apr 11 2019 7:54PM
UP records high turn-out of voters on the first day of polling
Lucknow,April 11(HS)Uttar Pradesh where eight Lok Sabha constituencies went to the poll on Thursday recorded a high percentage of votes .Excepting Ghaziabad,all the other seats got more than 60 per cent votes.They averaged 63.6 or 64 per cent till six pm.The final figures may go up to 66. Saharanpur topped the list with 70.6 votes followed by Muzaffarnagar from where RLD leader Ajit Singh is seeking election.As many as 66.66 per cent voters exercised their franchise in Muzaffarnagar. Ghaziabad was the only seat where the percentage was below 60.It recorded 57.60 per cent votes. Union minister general V K Singh is seeking re-election fromt there. After Ghaziabad it was Gautam Buddha Nagar which got the lowest percentage of votes--60.15. Polling percentage in all others was above 62 till six pm ,according to the Election Commission. Excepting two, voting percentage was over 50 in all the constituencies upto five pm..Barring some minor incidents, polling was held peacefully in all the eight constituencies. The constituecies where elections were held were:Saharanpur,Kairana,Bijnor,Muzaffarnagar,Baghpat,Ghaziabad ,Gautam Buddha Nagar and Meerut. Saharanpur had recorded the highest, 54.18, till five p m.It was followed by Kairana,52.40 per cent. Excepting Gautam Buddha Nagar and Ghaziabad,in all the other four constituencies the percentage was above 50. Ghaziabad had recorded the lowest, 47 per cent till then. G B Nagarf was little better,49.7 per cent. There were complaints against some EVM machines but they were replaced soon.There was firing in the air in Kairana to disperse the unruly voters who wanted to vote without Identity cards. The state has total 80 LS seats.The second phase of election will be held on April 18.The 7-phase election will end on May 19. HS/RN
लोकप्रिय खबरें
फोटो और वीडियो गैलरी