Hindusthan Samachar
Banner 2 मंगलवार, अप्रैल 23, 2019 | समय 02:03 Hrs(IST) Sonali Sonali Sonali Singh Bisht

Mamata protests against transfer of four senior police officials

By HindusthanSamachar | Publish Date: Apr 6 2019 4:50PM
Mamata protests against transfer of four senior police officials
Kolkata, Apr. (HS): West Bengal chief minister, Mamata Banerjee here today expressed serious concern at the Election Commission''s yesterday''s decision to transfer four senior police officers including the new Kolkata Police Commissioner with ''immediate effect'',and decided to issue strong protest letter to the Commission against its step. Describing the transfer order of Kolkata Police Commissioner Anuj Sharma and his Counterpart in Bidhan Nagar Commissionarate Jyanwant Singh along with two Superintendents of Police of Diamond Harbour and Birbhum - Silva Murugan and Shyam Singh respectively - as totally ''biased and unjust'',the Chief minister has decided to send her protest letter to the Commission later this afternoon expressing her views. It may be recalled that following repeated complaints against these senior police officials by the opposition and blaming them with allegedly siding with the state administration even after the imposition of the Model Code of Conducts following the announcement of election dates, the EC in a totally unexpected step issued the transfer orders of all these four senior officers. Besides asking them to step down immediately, the Commission also announced the names of those officers who would replace the present incumbents. As per the EC notification, directed to state Chief Secretary Malay De, the current Additional Director General of Police in the state Pollution Control Board Rajesh Kumar would take charge as the new Kolkata Police Commissioner in place of Anuj Sharma, who incidentally took over the charge replacing the previous incumbent Rajesh Kumar in February this year following huge controvercy. Similary the Bidhan Nagar Police Commissioner Jyanwant Singh would be replaced by the current Additional Director General of Kolkata Police,Operation, Natrajan Rameshbabu. In addtion the EC directive said the Superintendent of Police in Birbhim district Shyam Singh would have to step aside to allow Deputy Commissioner, Detective Department of the Bidhan Nagar Police Commissionarate Avaru Rabindranath to take up as the new SP of Birbhum. Lastly, the present Superintendent of Police of Diamond Harbour Police District in South 24 Parganas Sylva Murugan had also been replaced with the Deputy Commissioner of Kolkata Armed Police, Third Battalion Srihari Pande. Apart from asking the state government to implement all these four transfer order by this evening, the Election Commission in its directive also made it clear that none of these four police offers,who have been transferred, could not be involved in any poll related duty in the state. It may be recalled that during the last state Assembly elections in West Bengal in 2016, the then Kolkata Police Commissioner Rajiv Kumar was also transferred by the EC in a similar fashion. But interestingly he was reinstated in the same post immediately after the Mamata Banerjee government came to power for the second term. Now it remains to be seen what would be the next course of action of EC after the receipt of the protest letter from the Chief minister and whether more such stern orders were in the pipeline in the state in view of its poor record in terms of maintaining law and order during elections. However,all opposition parties in the state including BJP, Congress and Cpi-m have welcomed the EC''s decision to transfer these senior police officials on the basis of their past records. Hindusthan Samachar/Ankur/Pramod \
लोकप्रिय खबरें
फोटो और वीडियो गैलरी