Hindusthan Samachar
Banner 2 बुधवार, मार्च 27, 2019 | समय 01:09 Hrs(IST) Sonali Sonali Sonali Singh Bisht

First two phases will play a major role in win for BJP in UP

By HindusthanSamachar | Publish Date: Mar 14 2019 2:17PM
First two phases will play a major role in win for BJP in UP
Lucknow,March 14(HS)The first two phases of general elections in Uttar Pradesh are crucial for both the BJP and the BSP for different reasons.These will largely decide the fate of these two parties. In these two phases, eight constituencies each will go to the poll.The BSP had not won any of the 16 seats and all of them were bagged by the BJP.The situation has changed from the previous poll and turned to an extent in favour of the BSP because of its alliance with the SP. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP Amit Shah ,therefore, will have to work hard for continued dominance over them. They had managed the win despite the fact that the western region of the state of which these constituencies are a part has larger Muslim population than the rest .As against 19 per cent of the total population in the rest of the regions,this area has 26 per cent. In Some of the areas the percentage is above 40.In Rampur it is even more than 50.With Muslims largely supporting the SP and the BSP,the BJP victories in 2014 in the region had surprised most of the political pundits. The region had made a large contribution to the party''s tally of 71.The BSP had made a dismal performance and the SP had won five seats but none among the 16 where elections will be held in the first two phases. The SP had won Badaun,Mainpuri,Azamgarh,Kannauj and Firozabad seats which will go to the polls in other five phases.As per the lists released so far, Mulayam Singh Yadav will contest from Mainpuri again and his daughter-in-law, Dimple, from perfume trading centre, Kannauj. Not only had the BJP captured all these 16 seats but created a few records in 2014. Ghaziabad stands out .General V K Singh had contested the seat and defeated his nearest rival by a margin of five lakh votes. Another BJP candidate Sanjeev Kumar Balyan had won Muzaffarnagar seat by a margin of over four lakh votes.This constituency has about 40 per cent Muslim population.But consolidation of Hindu votes because of his hue and cry over alleged mass Hindu exodus worked to his advantage. The ground realities will be different this time for him too if he contests again.Rashtriya Lok Dal president Ajit Singh will be seeking election from this seat this year,unlike 2014.This popular Jat leader had fought from Baghpat in the previous poll which has been allotted to his son this year. There are some other interesting facts about the constituencies going to the poll on April 11 and April 18. Bijnor which is one of them was the first to elect Mayawati to the Lok Sabha. Kairana is another. It was a test case for the BSP-SP-RLD alliance last year. Begum Tabassum Hasan was fielded by it against the BJP candidate Mriganka Singh, who was daughter of the winner of 2014.Due to sympathy and other factors she was considered to be a formidable candidate.But she was defeated by a heavy margin,emboldening the alliance. Another notable victory was that of Naipal Singh who had won on a BJP ticket from Rampur although the constituency has more than 50 per cent Muslim population.To many, it was due to Modi charima. Mayawati and SP president Akhilesh Yadav do not come under this category. HS/RN
लोकप्रिय खबरें
फोटो और वीडियो गैलरी