Hindusthan Samachar
Banner 2 बुधवार, मार्च 27, 2019 | समय 01:02 Hrs(IST) Sonali Sonali Sonali Singh Bisht

Left Front announced names of CPI(M) candidates for Raigunj and Murshidabad seats

By HindusthanSamachar | Publish Date: Mar 8 2019 9:55PM
Left Front announced names of CPI(M) candidates for  Raigunj and Murshidabad seats
Kolkata, 8 March (HS): Ruling out the possibilities of forming a pre-poll alliance with the Congress in West Bengal,the Left Front here tonight announced the names of Cpi-m candidates for both Raigunj and Murshidabad seats,which the party won during the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Announcing this Left Front Chairman Biman Bose said here tonight after a marathon meeting with Left parties that they had decided to field Mohammad Salim for the Raijung seat and Md Badrudoza for the Murshidabad seat,both of which were the bone of contention for forming an alliance with the Congress. But at the same time he said,however,no decision was taken about Left Front candidates in four Lok Sabha seats in Malda district which were won by the Congress last time.''We have deliberately did not decide on any candidate in any of these (four) seats and left it to Congress to decide'', Basu said after the meeting.On the nominations of other Left Front candidates for the remaining seats where the Left parties had decided to contest,the Front Chairman said the names of Mohammad Salim and Mohammad Badrudhroza (for Railgunj and Murshidabad seats) were announced since ''we have unanimously decided to contest from both the winning seats of the party where we have a fair chance to win this time also''. ''Similarly, we have taken a similar stance for the four Lok Sabha seats in Malda district where Congress had a stronger foothold '', Basu said but refused to comment on the Left Front''s decision about other seats. It may be recalled that in spite of ruling West Bengal for 34 straight years till 2011,the Left Front has decided to contest in only about 20 of the state''s 42 Lok Sabha seats this year,including those in Raiganj and Murshidabad, and even wanted to set up a pre poll alliance with the Congress with the sole objective of defeating both the Trinamool Congress and BJP candidates in most of them. But unfortunately the West Bengal Pradesh Congress leadership flatly denied any such alliance with the Left Front without getting the Raijung and Murshidabad seats for contest and left the issue to Congress President Rahul Gandhi to decide.Since there was no positive response in this regard either from Rahul Gandhi himself or from the Congress High Command so far, the Left Front constituents had no option but to declare their first list of candidates in the state for the coming elections to boost the moral of Left From workers across the state. In 2014 elections of the state''s 42 Lok Sabha seats, Trinamool Congress won maximum 34,while four went to Congress and two each clinched by BJP (Asansol and Darjeeling) and CPI (M) (Raigunj and Murshidabad) . Hindusthan Samachar/Ankur/Pramod \
लोकप्रिय खबरें
फोटो और वीडियो गैलरी