Hindusthan Samachar
Banner 2 शनिवार, मार्च 23, 2019 | समय 13:13 Hrs(IST) Sonali Sonali Sonali Singh Bisht

Students of Thapar Institute once again prove their technical strengths

By HindusthanSamachar | Publish Date: Mar 7 2019 9:10AM
Students of Thapar Institute once again prove their technical strengths
By Shri Ram Shaw Win various categories in Smart India Hackathon 2019 which concluded recently New Delhi/Patiala (Punjab), Mar 07 (HS): Students of Thapar Institute have once again proved their technical strengths by winning various categories in Smart India Hackathon 2019 which concluded recently. Mandeep Singh, SPOC (Single Point of Contact, SIH 2019) for Thapar Institute, told Hindusthan Samachar over phone from Patiala that Out of 34 teams, 8 teams were able to make it to grand finale of Software edition at different nodal centres across the country. The final round was during 2-3 March. Dr. Mandeep Singh is Associate Prof. , EIED, Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology. He is also President, Froshweek Society, President, Entrepreneurship Development Cell and Co-coordinator, STEP and Venture Lab. He further said that being a national level event, there was tough competition among teams from various IITs, NITs, and other reputed institutions. I am glad to share that 5 teams from Thapar Institute have won cash prizes and trophies in their respective categories. 4 Teams won 1st Prize and 1 team stood 2nd making the total prize money of Rs 4 lakhs in this mega event. Following is the detail of teams and the team leaders who won prizes in Software edition of Smart India Hackathon 2019. S. No. Team name Team Leader Prize Ministry/Industry - Category 1 ALPHAQ Tathagat 1st Hindustan Unilever Ltd 2 BUG KILLER Prayag 1st YAMAHA 3 KAMIKAZEY! Shubhank 1st CISCO 4 RANDOMSIX Kush 1st CISCO 5 THE CREEPING SPIDERS Shubham 2nd AICETE - Smart Education “I am thankful to Dean Students affairs and Dean Academic affairs for their unconditional support to all teams. I am also thankful to Head Computer Science for their help and lab support. I congratulate the technical mentors Dr. Prashant S. Rana, Harpreet Singh, Dr. Vinay Arora and Dr. Karun Verma who guided the teams to achieve their goal,” Singh added. Team Oorja dominates 6th Go kart design challenge Team Oorja has scaled and dominated the 6th Go kart design challenge held at Buddha International Circuit with complete authority among 192 teams participating from the starting day. Despite there being a healthy competition from other college teams from all over India the team made a significant mark thereby having a red-letter day. The number of accolades earned by the team are good enough to be presented in the form of the list below. RUNNERS UP Best Autocross Best Driver Award Best Business plan Apart from these trophies, the team also gained good positions in other events that didn’t involve a trophy or a prize but did play role while accumulating the marks for the final rankings. Cost report – 1st Position Endurance race – 3rd Position Engineering design – 2nd Position Acceleration – 2nd Position overall, 1st in the final lineup Disassembly – 3rd prize. “If it was not with the unending support of the teams faculty advisor Dr Gagandeep Kaur, this day wouldn''t have been possible. The team would also like to present their heartfelt gratitude to Ashish Purohit and Dinesh Rathore for helping us with various aspects in designing and manufacturing. Also, a big thank you the former pillars of the team – the seniors who have always been there to handhold and help in case of any problems,” said Gurbinder Singh and Shivam Panwar, senior faculty members at Thapar Institute. Hindusthan Samachar/Shri Ram Shaw \
लोकप्रिय खबरें
फोटो और वीडियो गैलरी